New and awaited album produced by Stingray records Available on all digital platforms

Askala Selassie is proud to present her aptly titled debut studio album Warrior Empress. Rooted in the authenticity of reggae, the album is full of vibes, true and from the heart, wherein through JAH, Askala leads the warrior charge against all of life’s obstacles. The battlefield is diverse, and the roll call international, but the empress leading the way carries her audience through with her lioness’s strength from start to finish.

This accomplished piece effortlessly appeals to the masses, realising both the goals of the reggae-revival and the world reggae music scene; with such a powerful set list from start to finish, you know Askala Selassie's future concerts will be nothing but quality at its highest level. It is sure to wow her already loyal audience and capture new fans alike. Her years of singing on stages from one country to another have honed and perfected the artists’ work; from pen to performance, this is her very own authentic sound that is well-realised, and impossible to replicate. The network of respected artists that have worked with her from around the globe are back again to collaborate on this album, and there are additional veterans of reggae joining the roster to create the cinematic sound, to be released on the one and only VPAL of VP records on 03/06/2016.

Anticipated since the release of her debut EP, the Warrior Empress album was created in the UK’s number one and renowned Stingray studio; producer Dillie Stingray voices all of the reggae greats, and has plastered his expertise all over this production. This album is an international collaboration with musicians and performers from around the world. Askala Selassie’s powerful vocals meet the production of Jamaican and UK music masters, as well as heavy hitters from Italy and Spain. The album title track Warrior Empress was produced by Altafaan Records and has the Tuff Gong signature sound stamped all over it, as well as songs from Big Neck Productions ‘This Love’, ‘My Life’ by Genis Trani for Green Light Sound and ‘Love you always’ Bizzarri Records. Damian Marley's backing vocalist Nikki Burt, Althea Hewitt, and sister of the Warrior Empress Zufana Weddase, bless the album with their harmonies, with dynamic features by militant artist Ras Charmer and Jamaica's 'Never Lost My Way' Ginjah, take the album to higher heights; alongside the musical prowess of Jamaican legends Robert Lyn, composer of 'Pass the Dutchie', Dwight Pinkney from the Roots Radics, Dean Fraser not forgetting contributions by the Fire house crew. The album was primarily mixed by Stingray Records, and mastered by Calvin Francis; who said that it was a pleasure to be involved in such a project, as the Warrior Empress album is the most well executed and well put together album he has mastered in a long time. The 15 track album takes the audience through a well-paced reggae masterpiece, with her hit singles at key points in the track list. Her music videos for ‘Warrior Empress’ and ‘Love You Always’ equally exemplify the tone. Starting with a beautiful ode to her higher power with ‘Holy, Holy’, the album begins and ends full circle on the Warrior Empress leitmotif:

1. Holy, Holy
2. Warrior Empress
3. Rocky Road
4. Rise Up feat. Ras Charmer
5. Hard Work
6. Hard Work Dub
7. I’ll Wait
8. Jamaica
9. Rebel
10. My Life
11. My Life Dub
12. This Old World
13. This Love feat. Ginjah
14. Love you always
15. Warrior Empress Dub

Askala Selassie's first album Warrior Empress is the start of a very promising career for reggae’s rising songstress. She has carved a niche for an innovative and dynamic artistry that has been long missing from the reggae industry. By blending the revolutionary power of rebel music, which initially sparked the fire of reggae in songs such as Rise Up and Rebel, having a pop appeal and “irie” cool-water vibe in songs like Jamaica and Love You Always, and the heartbeat power of dub with songs like My life and Hard Work, this album is the perfect blend of reggae genres infused into one album. Her skill already meets and exceeds that of contemporaries, and whether deejay lyrical blends or soothing soulful notes, her versatility shines throughout the album. The fans will arrive for the regal aura and charm, but stay a lifelong audience for a singer whose love for humanity and humility reaches and uplifts the heart and soul with every listen. Give a royal Rastafari salute: the Warrior Empress herself has arrived.